Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman
Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman

Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman


Last Updated: 2020-03-04 15:44:30
Type of Institution
Comprehensive university
Areas of Program
Finance & Economics, Communication, Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing & Animal Husbandry, Mathematics & Natural Sciences, Architecture, Construction & Town Planning, , Life Sciences, Engineering Science & Technology, Medical & Health, Business Management, Computer & Information Technology, Art & Design, Education, Literature, History & Languages, Humanities, Law & Social Sciences
Year of Establishment
Founded Body/ Founder
UTAR Education Foundation
Ir. Prof. Ewe Hong Tat
Kampar Campus(Main Campus), Sungai Long Campus
Student Number (local)
Student Number (international)
Number of Teaching Staff


Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR) was established in 2002 as a not-for-profit private university in Malaysia providing affordable quality education to all. The University is wholly-owned by the UTAR Education Foundation which is managed by an independent Board of Trustees.

Guided by its commitment to educational excellence, UTAR is reputed as one of the fastest growing private higher education institutions in the country since its inception. The University relocated its campuses and offices in Setapak, Kuala Lumpur and Section 13, Petaling Jaya to its own city campus in Sungai Long in a move to consolidate and strengthen the University’s presence and influence in the Klang Valley. Its consolidated campus in Sungai Long commenced full operations on 1 June 2015.
With the first intake of only 411 students in its Petaling Jaya campus in June 2002, the University’s enrolment has now reached 24,000 students with campuses located in Bandar Sungai Long and Kampar, Perak.

UTAR has graduated over 61,000 students since its inaugural convocation in 2005 and has made impressive strides in establishing a strong reputation as a comprehensive University with dedication to achieving excellence in teaching and research. The University currently offers more than 110 academic programmes from Foundation Studies to Bachelor's, Master’s, and PhD degrees in the fields of Accounting, Business and Economics, Actuarial Science, Mathematics and Process Management, Agriculture and Food Science, Arts, Social Sciences and Education, Chinese Studies, Creative Industries and Design, Engineering and Built Environment, Information and Communication Technology, Life and Physical Sciences, and Medicine and Health Sciences.

Over the years, UTAR has designed quality programmes, employed quality staff, diversified its partnerships and student body, employed effective teaching-learning pedagogy, initiated research and publications and expanded facilities. Most importantly, UTAR practised good governance to ensure sustainability. All these have come to fruition when the University was awarded self-accreditation status by the Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA), Ministry of Higher Education.

UTAR’s vision to be a global University of educational excellence has prompted measures to ensure quality of its programmes through rigorous audits and discussions with local and international industry advisors, external examiners from 12 economies, industry leaders, and stringent certification processes by more than 20 international and local professional bodies such as; The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW), The Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, UK (RICS), The Royal Society of Chemistry, UK (RSC), The Society of Actuaries, USA (SOA), The Engineering Accreditation Council (EAC), Board of Engineers Malaysia (BEM), Certified Public Accountants Australia (CPA), The Society of Logisticians Malaysia (LogM), The Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB), ACCA, CIMA, ICSA, MIA, Chartered Tax Institute of Malaysia (ctim), Lembaga Arkitek Malaysia (LAM), Financial Planning Association of Malaysia (FPAM) and many more.


Ranked 501-600 in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2019
Ranked 99 in the Times Higher Education Asia University Rankings 2018
MQA Self-accreditation 2017